Look for the packages labelled

When will gluten-free Cheerios be available in Canada and where can I buy them?

We are pleased to inform you that gluten-free Original Cheerios, Honey Nut Cheerios, Multi-Grain Cheerios, Apple Cinnamon Cheerios and Chocolate Cheerios will be launched in Canada this summer.

Look for gluten-free original Cheerios in the yellow box in stores starting in May 2016. Gluten-free Honey Nut Cheerios, Multi-Grain Cheerios, Apple Cinnamon Cheerios and Chocolate Cheerios will arrive in stores starting at the end of July, 2016. These gluten free Cheerios cereals are clearly labeled “gluten-free” on the front of the box.

We already distribute Rice Chex, Chex Honey Nut and Cinnamon Chex cereals as gluten free options and Chocolate Chex is launching this summer.

It is important to note that in stores, there could be packages of Cheerios that are not labelled gluten-free on the same shelf for a time. Only packages that are labelled “gluten-free” are guaranteed to meet the Health Canada regulatory standards and requirements for gluten-free products.

We recommend consumers always check the ingredient label, allergen declarations and claims on each package to determine if a product is suitable.

Wheat is no longer listed in the ingredients list, Contains or May Contains statement on my package, but there is no gluten-free label on the box. Is this box gluten-free?

Starting last summer, we removed wheat and wheat ingredients from Original Yellow Box Cheerios, Honey Nut Cheerios, Multi Grain Cheerios, and Apple Cinnamon Cheerios.

It is important to note, however, that only packages that are labelled “gluten-free” are guaranteed to meet the Health Canada regulatory standards and requirements for gluten-free products.

Gluten-free Cheerios will be back in Canadian stores in May 2016. Gluten-free Honey Nut Cheerios, Multi-Grain Cheerios, Apple Cinnamon Cheerios and Chocolate Cheerios will be in Canadian stores starting in July 2016. These gluten free Cheerios cereals are clearly labeled “gluten-free” on the front of the box.

We recommend consumers check the ingredient label and allergen statement on each package to determine if the product is suitable.

How was General Mills able to label oat-based product as gluten-free? I didn’t think Health Canada allowed that?

Health Canada updated labelling regulations in the fall of 2015, to allow oats to be labelled as “gluten free oats” when properly handled. General Mills developed a process to remove gluten sources from our supply of whole oats in order to ensure that the oats in Cheerios are gluten-free. Gluten-free Cheerios meet Health Canada’s requirements and standards for gluten-free product. Health Canada standards include less than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten in the product.

Have all General Mills products been evaluated for gluten-free status?

Only products that have the gluten-free claim on the package have undergone extensive ingredient, manufacturing and product analysis to ensure they meet Health Canada standards and requirements for gluten-free.

To be labelled gluten-free, a product must contain less than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten – which amounts to a few stray grains inside a 5-gallon pail.

Does General Mills use “purity protocol” oats?

There are simply not enough certified/purity protocol gluten-free oats in the world to supply Cheerios. In fact, that entire supply would only last us approximately 2 weeks. We are always working to source the purest oats, and have various testing checkpoints in place to ensure our oats are Gluten Free before they’re even made into Gluten-Free Cheerios.

How are people getting sick? / I’m getting sick

We are truly sorry that is your experience. We are confident our product meet Health Canada requirements for gluten-free. The Health Canada standard includes less than 20 parts per million of gluten in the product. Even so, we know that there will always be people who suffer from allergies and other conditions that prevent them from eating Gluten-Free Cheerios, such as a sensitivity to oat products. We recommend you talk to your doctor.

What about other allergens? I have sensitivities to other ingredients too.

We recommend consumers check the ingredient label and allergen statement on each package to determine if the product is suitable. It is General Mills’ policy to list the following allergens in the ingredients list of any product which contains peanuts, tree nuts, fish, eggs, milk, wheat, mustard, seafood, sesame, soybean, sulfites and sunflower. In addition, the following sensitizing agents would also be listed in a product which contains yellow dye #5 and #6 (tartrazine) and monosodium glutamate (MSG)

I’ve been buying US gluten-free Cheerios. Are Canadian gluten-free Cheerios the same as U.S. gluten-free Cheerios?

Canadian gluten-free Cheerios are made with the same whole grain oats as gluten-free Cheerios distributed in the United States. Canadian gluten-free Cheerios meet the Heath Canada regulatory standards and requirements for gluten free and are labelled in bilingual boxes for the Canadian marketplace.